St. John’s is a Gaelic Athletic Association club based in Carraroe on the eastern ward of Sligo. It is one of the newer clubs in the county, having been formed in 1987 after a re-organisation of the GAA structures in the Sligo urban area. Its grounds formerly known as Cuilbeg was renamed Stenson Park in memory of legendary Sligo player and Curry/St. John’s club man Johnny Stenson.  The grounds were formally opened in October 2012 by GAA President Liam O’Neill.

The most famous players to have played for the club are AllStars Barnes Murphy and Charlie Harrison, and also Shane Filan from Westlife.

In 2013, St. John’s seniors won ten games out of a possible eleven and contested the Division One League final for the very first time in their short history against Tourlestrane but lost. Currently the club fields Senior, Intermediate and Junior A teams and traditionally draws its players from Carraroe, Cairns Hill, Cranmore, Garavogue and Mail Coach Road which are predominantly areas from Sligo town.

St. John’s are yet to make an appearance in the Sligo Senior Championship final, but have made four semi final appearances. The club have also won a Connacht Junior title in 1999 when they defeated Monivea Abbeyknockmoy of Galway in the final in Tuam (Abbeyknockmoy had beaten St Johns heavily in the group stage)

In the 2014 sligo county championship semi final St Johns suffered a heavy defeat to arch rivals St Marys.

2015 was a disastrous year for St Johns as they finished bottom of the division 1 league and bottom of the championship group meaning relegation to intermediate championship and division 2 league for 2016.

The 2017 intermediate championship ended in celebration with St Johns getting the better of St Farnans in a replayed final.

2018 saw St Johns play at senior level but unfortunately the step up from intermediate was too much for them and they were relegated to intermediate after a relegation play off with Drumcliffe Rosses Point

Sligo Intermediate Football Championship: 2017

  • Sligo senior football league (division 1): Runners up 2013
  • Connacht Junior Club Football Championship 1999
  • Sligo Intermediate Football Championship: 2000
  • Sligo Junior Football Championship: 1989, 1999, 2013
  • Sligo Junior ‘B’ Football Championship: 2009, 2013, 2016
  • Sligo Under 21 ‘B’ Football Championship: 2004
  • Sligo Under 20 Football Championship: 2011
  • Sligo Minor Football Championship: 1998, 1999, 2002, 2006
  • Sligo Under-16 Football Championship: 1998, 1999, 2000, 2002, 2003, 2005, 2008, 2009
  • Sligo Under-14 Football Championship: 1962, 1964, 1994, 1995, 1997, 2001, 2003, 2007
  • Sligo Senior Football League (Division 2): 2009
  • Sligo Intermediate Football League Division 3 (ex Div. 2): 2006
  • Sligo Junior Football League (Division 5): 1988, 1999, 2010
  • Benson Cup: 2008